Next Event > Friday, February 13 , 2015 - Winchester Winter Tree School. Save the date! (Program Link).

Thursday, February 19th: The 2015 Western Maryland Regional Fruit Meeting will take place on Thursday, February 19th. As usual, the meeting will be held at the University of Maryland, Western Maryland Research & Education Center (WMREC), 18330 Keedysville Road, Keedysville, Maryland. The full program and registration details will be available shortly.



Maryblyt for Windows - version 7.1 is now available (June 17, 2014) (zip).

Download our new fungicide resistance management chart for apples and peaches (March, 2014) (pdf)

Welcome to KTFREC

West Virginia University's Kearneysville Tree Fruit Research and Education Center is located in Jefferson County on old Route 9, just west of Kearneysville, about halfway between Charles Town and Martinsburg. The Fruit Center was established in 1930 and is administered by the Division of Plant and Soil Sciences in the Davis College of Agriculture, Natural Resources, and Design. It is one of nine farms and forests of the West Virginia Agricultural and Forestry Experiment Station. The Center includes 130 acres of mixed tree fruit plantings and corn rotation, a modern laboratory and classroom building, a historic farm house, graduate student housing, and various equipment buildings. Most of the site is devoted to research plantings, with numerous orchard blocks established specifically for investigations in the areas of entomology and plant pathology. The mission of the Fruit Center is to serve the commercial tree fruit industry of West Virginia, of which over 95% is located in the counties of Berkeley, Jefferson, Hampshire, and Morgan.